Skip to main content
close x

Building design awards

From traditional thatched cottages to eco homes and historic houses to beach huts, the New Forest National Park is renowned for the character of its buildings.

Our Building Design Awards recognise high quality design and the best new developments in the National Park, with new buildings, larger developments and extensions eligible for an award. This year, a new category of best green building has been introduced to mark the 70th anniversary of National Parks, which Government is celebrating with a nationwide Year of Green Action.

Nominations are accepted for schemes completed over the last three years that enhance or protect the built environment of the National Park in the following categories:

  • Best residential scheme (household extensions, new dwellings, conversions to residential)
  • Non-residential scheme (industrial Units, boat sheds, outbuildings not in residential use)
  • Best conservation project (extensions to a Listed Building, restoration of a Listed Building, repair of a Building at Risk)
  • Best green building (showcasing sustainable construction and materials)

Nominations for this year’s awards are now open until 31 December 2019. The winners will be chosen in the new year by a panel of members drawn from the National Park Authority’s Planning Committee. Read about last year’s winners here.

Building Design Awards 2019 - nomination form
Drop a file here or click to uploadChoose File
Maximum upload size: 25.6MB

If you have any questions please email

Newsletter Image





Six free walking routes when you sign up for New Forest Newsletter

Subscribe to New Forest National Park Authority

By entering your email below you are consenting to us sending you newsletters. To unsubscribe, email More info:

I think you mistyped your email
Your interests (tick at least one)

Please select one

By signing up to this form you are consenting to receive emails from us. Each email will contain a link to your personal reference settings where you can opt-out or change which emails you receive from us. Please read our Privacy Policyfor more information about how we use data.

Subscribe to New Forest National Park Authority

Thanks, your subscription has been confirmed. You've been added to our list and your New Forest walking pack is on its way to you, including a link to download our free app.