close x

Neighbourhood planning

Hythe & Dibden Neighbourhood Plan Examination and Referendum (October 2019)

In Spring 2019 New Forest District Council and New Forest National Park Authority were formally consulted on the draft Hythe and Dibden Neighbourhood Plan. This represented the formal Regulation 16 consultation stage. The consultation took place from 18 March to 29 April 2019. View details of the documents submitted by the Parish Council.

Following the six week consultation the representations received were submitted to the independent Examiner appointed by the District Council and National Park Authority. In July 2019 the Examiner issued their final Report on the draft Hythe and Dibden Neighbourhood Plan. The Report concluded that subject to a number of modifications, the draft Plan met the basic conditions.

The Examiner’s Report can be viewed at the bottom of this page and the Authority’s ‘Decision Statement’ – setting out our response to each of the Examiner’s recommendations – is also available to download below.

The final version of the Neighbourhood Plan, incorporating the Examiner’s required modifications, was the subject of a local referendum on 29 October 2019. The referendum was administered by New Forest District Council and further details can be found on the District Council’s Hythe & Dibden Neighbourhood Plan webpage. At the local referendum 84.8% of the people who voted supported the Neighbourhood Plan, with a turn-out of 15%. Following this positive endorsement of the Neighbourhood Plan we will be formally adopting (or ‘making’) the Neighbourhood Plan at the full Authority meeting on Wednesday 18 December 2019.    

New Milton Neighbourhood Plan Consultation (Autumn 2019)

In August 2019 the draft New Milton Neighbourhood Plan was submitted to the National Park Authority and New Forest District Council. In accordance with Regulation 16 of the Neighbourhood Planning (General) Regulations 2012, the draft Plan was published for a six-week consultation in September 2019 which was led by New Forest District Council. The draft Neighbourhood Plan and supporting documents are available below. The consultation closed on 21 October 2019 and no further representations will be accepted.

All of the comments received will now be considered by an independent Examiner appointed by the planning authorities. If the Plan is supported by the Examiner, the Plan will proceed to a local referendum where the local community will be asked whether they support the Neighbourhood Plan.

About Neighbourhood Plans

Neighbourhood Plans were introduced by the Localism Act (2011) to allow local communities to prepare a plan for development and land use in their area. More detail about how Neighbourhood Plans work and their preparation can be found on the Planning Portal and Communities and Local Government websites.

As the New Forest is a parished area, neighbourhood plans can be undertaken by parish or town councils. We have a role in supporting communities in preparing a neighbourhood plan by giving advice and assistance to the town/parish council. More detail can be found in our Neighbourhood Planning Protocol (April 2016), which sets out the support we can offer local communities preparing neighbourhood plans.

Hampshire County Council has also prepared a useful guide on its role in the neighbourhood planning process, explaining the main County Council services that may have to be considered when carrying out neighbourhood planning; links to relevant County Council information; and an explanation of the distinction between the roles of the County Council and the Authority in the neighbourhood planning process.

Neighbourhood Plan Areas

In order to start preparing a Neighbourhood Plan, a town/parish council first makes an application to the local planning authority for the designation of the area that their Neighbourhood Plan will cover. In accordance with Part 2 of the Neighbourhood Planning (General) Regulations 2012, we formally designated Neighbourhood Plan Areas for the part of the parishes of Milford-on-Sea; Totton and Eling; New Milton; Hythe and Dibden; Lymington and Pennington; and Wellow that lie within the National Park.

List of Neighbourhood Areas designated in the New Forest National Park

Name of Neighbourhood AreaGeographical area coveredBody which applied for the designation
Milford-on-Sea Parish (April 2013)Area of the parish of Milford-on-Sea within the National ParkMilford-on-Sea Parish Council
Totton and Eling Town (November 2014)Area of the parish of Totton and Eling within the National ParkTotton & Eling Town Council
New Milton Town (February 2015)Area of the parish of New Milton within the National ParkNew Milton Town Council
Lymington and Pennington Town (September 2015)Area of the parish of Lymington and Pennington within the National ParkLymington and Pennington Town Council
Hythe and Dibden Parish (December 2015)Area of the parish of Hythe and Dibden within the National ParkHythe and Dibden Parish Council
Wellow Parish Council (June 2016)Area of the parish of Wellow within the National ParkWellow Parish Council

Our decision to designate the above Neighbourhood Plan Areas relates only to the part of the Neighbourhood Areas within the National Park. The reports confirming these designations and a map showing the areas designated within the National Park are available to download on the right.

Neighbourhood planning

Totton and Eling Neighbourhood Plan

Milford-on-Sea Neighbourhood Plan

Lymington & Pennington Neighbourhood Plan

Wellow Neighbourhood Plan

Newsletter Image





Six free walking routes when you sign up for New Forest Newsletter