AM 659/23

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK MEETING – 21 SEPTEMBER 2023

APPOINTMENTS TO VACANCIES ON COMMITTEES

Report by: Vicki Gibbon, Member Services Administrator and Nigel Stone, Head of

Resources

Membership of Committees:

- 1. Members will be aware that the cessation of a number of Authority memberships, by virtue of the local elections on 4 May 2023, has resulted in vacancies on the Authority's Committees.
- 2. The new appointments to the National Park Authority have now been made by the appointing Local Authorities. In addition, two further parish members, Mary Davies and Brice Stratford, have now been appointed by the Secretary of State as Authority Parish members. However, at the time of writing the report, one remaining Secretary of State Parish member appointment had not been confirmed.
- 3. The Authority re-appoints all of its Committees at the annual meeting in October in each year, set for October 19 this year; it is considered appropriate for the majority of the current vacancies to still be filled at that meeting, particularly in order to allow time for the outstanding appointment to be made by the Secretary of State. All members, including the new appointees, will therefore have a full opportunity to stand for Committee membership at the Authority meeting in October.
- 4. In the interim however, in order to ensure that the next two Planning Committee meetings are quorate, it is considered prudent to ask Members to appoint three further members: namely Mary Davies, Joe Reilly and Brice Stratford, to the Planning Committee with immediate effect they have all been approached about this interim measure and have indicated they would be willing to sit on this Committee; arrangements will be made for appropriate inductions and training to take place shortly. The resulting Committee memberships are shown in full in **Annex 1**.

Recommendation:

Mary Davies, Joe Reilly and Brice Stratford be appointed to the Planning Committee with immediate effect, with these appointments continuing until the Annual Authority meeting on 19 October 2023 or such earlier time as the Authority wishes to amend the membership of its Committees.

Contact: Vicki Gibbon

Email: vicki.gibbon@newforestnpa.gov.uk

Papers: AM 659/23 - Cover paper

Equality Impact Assessment: There are no equality or diversity implications arising

directly from this report.

AM 659/23 Annex 1

CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS SHOULD THE RECOMMENDATION IN THIS PAPER BE APPROVED:

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
Zoe Clewer (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	David Bence (SoS Member)
Steve Trow (SoS Member)	Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member)	Patrick Heneghan (SoS Member)
Vacancy (SoS Member)	Mary Davies (SoS Parish Member)	Victoria Mander (SoS Member)
Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	David Harrison (Local Authority Member	George Meyrick (SoS Member)
Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	Gavin Parker (SoS Member)	Neville Penman (Local Authority Member)
	Joe Reilly (Local Authority Member)	Caroline Rackham (Local Authority Member)
	Brice Stratford (SoS Parish Member)	Vacancy (SoS Member)
	Stephen Tarling (SoS Parish Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)
	Michael Thierry (Local Authority Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Steve Trow (SoS Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (SoS Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	