AM 694/24

## NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 17 OCTOBER 2024

#### **APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES**

Report by: Vicki Gibbon, Member Services Administrator

#### Summary:

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Authority is required to appoint its committees at its Annual Meetings. The current membership of the Planning Committee, Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee is listed in the schedule attached as **Annex 1**. Members' preferred Committee choices are attached as **Annex 2**.

#### INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 In accordance with the Standing Orders, the Authority is required to re-appoint the membership of its committees at the Annual Meeting. Accordingly, the membership of the Planning Committee, the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee must be approved for the period until the next Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2025. In determining the membership and composition of any committee, sub-committee, panel or other group, the Standing Orders require that due regard shall be had to the overall composition of the Authority in terms of the balance between local authority and Secretary of State appointments (Article 4, Part 2 of the 2005 Establishment Order and Articles 13(3) and (4) of Schedule 7 of the Environment Act 1995). The current membership of the Authority is 12 local authority and 10 Secretary of State members (this latter group comprising 6 members appointed by the Secretary of State and 4 Parish members) - Secretary of State-appointed members are identified in Annex 2 by shading. In practical terms, this means that each Committee must comprise one more local authority member than the number of Secretary of State members.
- 1.2 The membership of the three Committees prior to this Annual meeting of the Authority is listed in the schedule at **Annex 1.**
- 1.3 In order to facilitate the process of appointing the membership of the committees at the Annual Authority meeting, the Member Services Administrator wrote to members on 2 September inviting them to state their preferred choice for committee membership by completing and returning a committee preference form. **Annex 2** sets out the results of this survey in terms of meeting the membership requirement of the Committees.

#### 2. PLANNING COMMITTEE

2.1 The Planning Committee at present comprises 13 members: 7 local authority appointed members and 6 Secretary of State members (there is currently 2 local authority vacancies and 1 Secretary of State vacancy on this Committee). Following members' responses, 6 local authority appointees and 5 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means the committee requires 1 local authority member and 1 Secretary of State Member.

#### Recommendation 1:

To appoint the membership of the Planning Committee as agreed at the Authority meeting (up to 7 local authority members and 6 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2025 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

#### 3. RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE

3.1 Currently, this Committee comprises 11 members: 6 local authority appointed members and 5 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the committee has sufficient members.

#### Recommendation 2:

To appoint the membership of the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee as set out in Annex 2 (6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2025 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

#### 4. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

4.1 At present, this Committee comprises 5 members: 3 local authority and 2 Secretary of State members. Following receipt of members' preferences, 5 volunteers (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

#### Recommendation 3:

To appoint the membership of the Standards Committee as set out in Annex 2 (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2025 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

Contact: Vicki Gibbon

Email: vicki.gibbon@newforestnpa.gov.uk

Papers:

AM 694/24 Cover paper

AM 694/24 Annex 1: Current Committee membership

AM 694/24 Annex 2: Results of members' committee preference

**Equality Impact Assessment:** There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

### AM 694/24 Annex 1

# NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 17 OCTOBER 2024 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO ANNUAL MEETING IN OCTOBER 2024

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
Zoe Clewer (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)
Mel Kendal (LA)	Richard Clewer (LA)	David Bence (SoS)
Victoria Mander (SoS)	Mary Davies (SoS)	David Harrison (LA)
Ann Sevier (SoS)	Gavin Parker (SoS)	Patrick Heneghan (SoS)
Derek Tipp (LA)	Caroline Rackham (LA)	Victoria Mander (SoS)
	Joe Reilly (LA)	Keith Mans (LA)
	Ann Sevier (SoS)	George Meyrick (SoS)
	Brice Stratford (SoS)	Neville Penman (LA)
	Michael Thierry (LA)	Joe Reilly (LA)
	Steve Trow (SoS)	Ann Sevier (SoS)
	1 X Secretary of State Vacancy	Derek Tipp (LA)
	2 X Local Authority Vacancies	

# NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 17 OCTOBER 2024

### RESULTS OF MEMBERS' PREFERRED COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2024/2025

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
Barry Dunning (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)
Mel Kendal (LA)	Mary Davies (SoS)	David Bence (SoS)
Victoria Mander (SoS)	Barry Dunning (LA)	Mary Davies (SoS)
Ann Sevier (SoS)	David Harrison (LA – 2 <sup>nd</sup> choice)	Barry Dunning (LA)
Derek Tipp (LA)	Gavin Parker (SoS)	David Harrison (LA – 1st choice)
	Joe Reilly (LA)	Victoria Mander (SoS)
	Caroline Rackham (LA)	Neville Penman (LA)
	Ann Sevier (SoS)	Joe Reilly (LA)
	Brice Stratford (SoS)	Ann Sevier (SoS)
	Michael Thierry (LA)	Brice Stratford (SoS)
	Steve Trow (SoS)	Derek Tipp (LA)
	1 x LA Vacancies	
	1 X SoS Vacancy	