#### AM 661/23

# NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

### **AUTHORITY MEETING – 19 OCTOBER 2023**

## **APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES**

Report by: Vicki Gibbon, Member Services Administrator

#### Summary:

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Authority is required to appoint its committees at its Annual Meetings. The current membership of the Planning Committee, Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee is listed in the schedule attached as **Annex 1**. Members' preferred Committee choices are attached as **Annex 2**.

#### INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 In accordance with the Standing Orders, the Authority is required to re-appoint the membership of its committees at the Annual Meeting. Accordingly, the membership of the Planning Committee, the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee must be approved for the period until the next Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2024. In determining the membership and composition of any committee, sub-committee, panel or other group, the Standing Orders require that due regard shall be had to the overall composition of the Authority in terms of the balance between local authority and Secretary of State appointments (Article 4, Part 2 of the 2005 Establishment Order and Articles 13(3) and (4) of Schedule 7 of the Environment Act 1995). The current membership of the Authority is 12 local authority and 10 Secretary of State members (this latter group comprising 6 members appointed by the Secretary of State and 4 Parish members) - Secretary of State-appointed members are identified in Annex 2 by shading. In practical terms, this means that each Committee must comprise one more local authority member than the number of Secretary of State members.
- 1.2 The membership of the three Committees prior to this Annual meeting of the Authority is listed in the schedule at **Annex 1.**
- 1.3 In order to facilitate the process of appointing the membership of the committees at the Annual Authority meeting, the Member Services Administrator wrote to members on 24 August inviting them to state their preferred choice for committee membership by completing and returning a committee preference form. **Annex 2** sets out the results of this survey in terms of meeting the membership requirement of the Committees.

## 2. PLANNING COMMITTEE

2.1 The Planning Committee at present comprises 13 members: 7 local authority appointed members and 6 Secretary of State members (there is currently two local authority vacancies and one Secretary of State vacancy on this Committee). Following members' responses, five local authority appointees and 6 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means the committee requires two further local authority members.

Recommendation 1:

To appoint the membership of the Planning Committee as agreed at the Authority meeting (up to 7 local authority members and 6 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2024 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

# 3. RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE

3.1 Currently, this Committee comprises 11 members: 6 local authority appointed members and 5 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

### **Recommendation 2**:

To appoint the membership of the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee as set out in Annex 2 (6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2024 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

### 4. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

4.1 At present, this Committee comprises 5 members: 3 local authority and 2 Secretary of State members. Following receipt of members' preferences, 5 volunteers (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

### **Recommendation 3**:

To appoint the membership of the Standards Committee as set out in Annex 2 (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2024 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

Contact:

Vicki Gibbon Email: <u>vicki.gibbon@newforestnpa.gov.uk</u>

Papers:	
AM 661/23	Cover paper
AM 661/23 Annex 1:	Current Committee membership
AM 661/23 Annex 2:	Results of members' committee preference

**Equality Impact Assessment:** There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

## AM 661/23 Annex 1

#### **NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY**

## AUTHORITY MEETING – 19 October 2023

# **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO ANNUAL MEETING IN OCTOBER 2023**

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Authority members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
Zoe Clewer (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)
Steve Trow (Secretary of State Member)	Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member)	David Bence (Secretary of State Member)
2 x Local Authority Vacancies	Mary Davies (Secretary of State Member)	Patrick Heneghan (Secretary of State Member)
1 x Secretary of State Vacancy	David Harrison (Local Authority Member)	Victoria Mander (Secretary of State Member)
	Gavin Parker (Secretary of State Member)	George Meyrick (Secretary of State Member)
	Joe Reilly (Local Authority Member)	Neville Penman (Local Authority Member)
	Brice Stratford (Secretary of State Member)	Caroline Rackham (Local Authority Member)
	Stephen Tarling (Secretary of State Member)	3 x Local Authority Vacancies
	Michael Thierry (Local Authority Member)	1 x Secretary of State Vacancy
	Steve Trow (Secretary of State Member)	
	2 x Local Authority Vacancies	
	1 x Secretary of State Vacancy	

# NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

## AUTHORITY MEETING – 19 OCTOBER 2023

# **RESULTS OF MEMBERS' PREFERRED COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2023/2024**

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
Zoe Clewer (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)	Gordon Bailey (LA)
Mel Kendal (LA)	Richard Clewer (LA)	David Bence (SoS)
Victoria Mander (SoS)	Mary Davies (SoS)	David Harrison (LA)
Ann Sevier (SoS)	Gavin Parker (SoS)	Patrick Heneghan (SoS)
Derek Tipp (LA)	Caroline Rackham (LA)	Victoria Mander (SoS)
	Joe Reilly (LA)	Keith Mans (LA)
	Ann Sevier (SoS)	George Meyrick (SoS)
	Brice Stratford (SoS)	Neville Penman (LA)
	Stephen Tarling (SoS)	Joe Reilly (LA)
	Michael Thierry (LA)	Ann Sevier (SoS)
	Steve Trow (SoS)	Derek Tipp (LA)
	2 X Local Authority Vacancies	