AM 651-23

# NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

## **AUTHORITY MEETING – 13 JULY 2023**

#### **APPOINTMENTS TO VACANCIES ON COMMITTEES**

Report by: David Stone, Manager of Corporate Services

#### Introduction:

- 1. Members will be aware that the cessation of a number of Authority memberships, by virtue of the local elections on 4 May 2023, has resulted in vacancies on the Authority's Committees. The Authority was also carrying one vacancy for a local authority appointed member prior to the elections.
- 2. The new appointments to the National Park Authority have now been made by the appointing local authorities. In addition, one parish member, Stephen Tarling, has been appointed by the Secretary of State as an Authority member. However, at the time of writing the report, the remaining three Secretary of State Parish member appointments have not yet been made by the Secretary of State.
- 3. The current position as to membership is outlined below:
  - Hampshire County Council has appointed two new NPA members (Louise Parker-Jones and Mel Kendal) and New Forest District Council has appointed three new NPA members (Dan Poole, Derek Tipp and Joe Reilly).
  - The remaining three NPA members appointed by Hampshire County Council, both the NPA members appointed by Wiltshire Council, and the NPA member appointed by Test Valley Borough Council, all remain unchanged.
  - The outgoing Parish members' appointments as Authority members continue for a
    period of three months from the elections (as do their Committee memberships),
    unless notification is received from the Secretary of State regarding the new
    appointments prior to the end of the three month period. While one parish member
    appointment has so far been made by the Secretary of State, three of the four
    appointments remain outstanding.
- 4. The Authority re-appoints all of its Committees at the annual meeting in October in each year, it is appropriate for the majority of the vacancies to be filled at that meeting, in order to allow time for the outstanding appointments to be made by the Secretary of State. All members, including the new appointees, will therefore have the opportunity to stand for Committee membership at the Authority meeting in October.
- 5. In the interim, however, in order to ensure that meetings are quorate, it is considered sensible to re-appoint those members to Committees whose re-appointment to the Authority has been confirmed by the relevant bodies and who were already sitting on those committees, namely Caroline Rackham, Gordon Bailey and Stephen Tarling. Caroline Rackham and Gordon Bailey were previously on the Resources, Audit and

Performance Committee and Gordon Bailey and Stephen Tarling were on the Planning Committee. It is suggested that these members accordingly be re-appointed to those Committees. Please note that there is no need to re-appoint the continuing members from Hampshire County Council and Wiltshire Council to the NPA's Committees, as those authorities did not have an election and therefore there was no 'break' in the continuity of those members' appointments to the NPA.

6. **Annex 1** sets out the Committees' memberships and vacancies as at the time of writing the report, and prior to the appointments that are suggested in the recommendation below.

#### Recommendation:

### That:

- (i) Caroline Rackham be appointed to the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee:
- (ii) Gordon Bailey be appointed to the Planning Committee and the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee; and
- (iii) Stephen Tarling be appointed to the Planning Committee,

with immediate effect, with these appointments continuing until the Annual Authority meeting on 19 October 2023 or such earlier time as the Authority wishes to amend the membership of its Committees.

Contact: David Stone

Email: david.stone@newforestnpa.gov.uk

Papers:

AM 651-23 Cover paper

AM 651-23 Annex 1: Committee membership

**Equality Impact Assessment:** There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

## NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 13 JULY 2023

# COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP AFTER LOCAL ELECTIONS AND NOTIFICATION OF NEW MEMBERS BY APPOINTING BODIES

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
George Bisson (SoS Parish Member)	George Bisson (SoS Parish Member)	David Bence (SoS Member)
Zoe Clewer (Local Authority Member)	Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member)	Patrick Heneghan (SoS Member)
Steve Trow (SoS Member)	David Harrison (Local Authority Member	Victoria Mander (SoS Member)
Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	Gavin Parker (SoS Member)	George Meyrick (SoS Member)
Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	John Sanger (SoS Parish Member)	Neville Penman (Local Authority Member)
	Richard Taylor (SoS Parish Member)	John Sanger (SoS Parish Member)
	Michael Thierry (Local Authority Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Steve Trow (SoS Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)
	Vacancy (Local Authority Member)	
	Vacancy (SoS Member)	