AM 567-20

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 15 OCTOBER 2020

APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES

Report by: David Stone, Manager of Corporate Services

Summary:

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Authority is required to appoint its committees at its Annual Meetings. The current membership of the Planning Committee, Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee is listed in the schedule attached as **Annex 1**. Members' preferred Committee choices are attached as **Annex 2**.

INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 In accordance with the Standing Orders, the Authority is required to re-appoint the membership of its committees at the Annual Meeting. Accordingly, the membership of the Planning Committee, the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee must be approved for the period until the next Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2021. In determining the membership and composition of any committee, sub-committee, panel or other group, the Standing Orders require that due regard shall be had to the overall composition of the Authority in terms of the balance between local authority and Secretary of State appointments (Article 4, Part 2 of the 2005 Establishment Order and Articles 13(3) and (4) of Schedule 7 of the Environment Act 1995). The current membership of the Authority is 12 local authority and 10 Secretary of State members (this latter group comprising 6 members appointed by the Secretary of State and 4 Parish members) - Secretary of State-appointed members are identified in Annex 2 by shading. In practical terms, this means that each Committee must comprise one more local authority member than the number of Secretary of State members.
- 1.2 The membership of the three Committees prior to this Annual meeting of the Authority is listed in the schedule at **Annex 1.**
- 1.3 In order to facilitate the process of appointing the membership of the committees at the Annual Authority meeting, the Corporate Services Manager wrote to members on 4 August 2020 inviting them to state their preferred choice for committee membership by completing and returning a committee preference form. **Annex 2** sets out the results of this survey in terms of meeting the membership requirement of the Committees.

1. PLANNING COMMITTEE

2.1 The Planning Committee at present comprises 13 members: 7 local authority appointed members and 6 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 7 local authority appointees and 6 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

Recommendation 1:

That the membership of the Planning Committee as set out in Annex 2 be appointed for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2021 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

2. RESOURCES AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE

3.1 Currently, this Committee comprises 11 members: 6 local authority appointed members and 5 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

Recommendation 2:

To appoint the membership of the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee as set out in Annex 2 (6 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2021 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

3. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

4.1 At present, this Committee comprises 5 members: 3 local authority and 2 Secretary of State members. Following receipt of members' preferences, this Committee has 5 volunteers (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members). This means that the Committee has sufficient members.

Recommendation 3:

To appoint the membership of the Standards Committee as set out in Annex 2 (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2021 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

Contact: David Stone

Tel: 01590 646645.

Email: david.stone@newforestnpa.gov.uk

Papers:

AM 567-20 Cover paper

AM 567-20 Annex 1: Current Committee membership

AM 567-20 Annex 2: Results of members' committee preference

Equality Impact Assessment: There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

AM 567-20 Annex 1

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 15 October 2020 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO ANNUAL MEETING IN OCTOBER 2020

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Authority members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
George Bisson (Secretary of State Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)
David Harrison (Local Authority Member)	David Bence (Secretary of State Member)	David Bence (Secretary of State Member)
Edward Heron (Local Authority Member)	George Bisson (Secretary of State Member)	Sue Bennison (Local Authority Member)
One vacancy Harry Oram (Secretary of State Member)	Sue Bennison (Local Authority Member)	One vacancy Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre (Secretary of State Member)
Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member)	David Harrison (Local Authority Member)
	One vacancyOliver Crosthwaite-Eyre-(Secretary of State Member)	Patrick Heneghan (Secretary of State Member)
	Gavin Parker (Secretary of State Member)	George Meyrick (SoS Member)
	Caroline Rackham (Local Authority Member)	One vacancy Mel Kendall (Local Authority Member)
	Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Neville Penman (Local Authority Member)
	Barry Rickman (Local Authority Member)	John Sanger (Secretary of State Member)
	John Sanger (Secretary of State Member)	Ann Sevier (Local Authority Member)
	Ann Sevier (Local Authority Member)	
	Richard Taylor (Secretary of State Member)	

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING – 15 OCTOBER 2020

RESULTS OF MEMBERS' PREFERRED COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2020/2021

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Authority members)	PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (11 Members)
George Bisson (SoS Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)
David Harrison (Local Authority Member)	Sue Bennison (Local Authority Member)	David Bence (SoS Member)
Edward Heron (Local Authority Member)	George Bisson (SoS Member)	Sue Bennison (Local Authority Member)
Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member)	David Harrison (Local Authority Member)
Victoria Mander (SoS Member)	Gavin Parker (SoS Member)	Patrick Heneghan (SoS Member)
	Caroline Rackham (Local Authority Member)	Victoria Mander (SoS Member)
	Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Alexis McEvoy (Local Authority Member)
	Barry Rickman (Local Authority Member)	George Meyrick (SoS Member)
	John Sanger (SoS Member)	Neville Penman (Local Authority Member)
	Ann Sevier (Local Authority Member)	John Sanger (SoS Member)
	Stephen Tarling (SoS Member)	Ann Sevier (Local Authority Member)
	Richard Taylor (SoS Member)	
	Steve Trow (SoS Member)	