NFNPA 551/18

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING – 12 JULY 2018

APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES

Report by: David Stone, Manager of Corporate Services

Summary:

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Authority is required to appoint its committees at its Annual Meetings. The current membership of the Planning Development Control Committee, Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee is listed in the schedule attached as **Annex 1**. The results of a survey of members' preferred Committee choices is attached as **Annex 2**.

The next agenda item will ask Members to elect Chairs and Deputy Chairs of these Committees.

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 In accordance with the Standing Orders, the Authority is required to re-appoint the membership of its committees at the Annual Meeting. Accordingly, the membership of the Planning Committee, the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee must be approved for the period until the next Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2019. In determining the membership and composition of any committee, sub-committee, panel or other group, the Standing Orders require that due regard shall be had to the overall composition of the Authority in terms of the balance between local authority and Secretary of State appointments (Article 4, Part 2 of the 2005 Establishment Order and Articles 13(3) and (4) of Schedule 7 of the Environment Act 1995). The current membership of the Authority is 12 local authority and 10 Secretary of State and 4 Parish members) Secretary of State-appointed members are identified in **Annex 2** by shading. *In practical terms, this means that each Committee must comprise one more local authority member than the number of Secretary of State members.*
- 1.2 The membership of the three Committees prior to this Annual meeting of the Authority is listed in the schedule at **Annex 1.**
- 1.3 In order to facilitate the process of appointing the membership of the Committees at the Annual Authority meeting, the Corporate Services Manager wrote to members on 30 May 2018 inviting them to state their preferred choice for committee membership by completing and returning a committee preference form. The results of the survey of members' preferred committee choices is attached as **Annex 2**.

2. PLANNING COMMITTEE

2.1 The Planning Committee at present comprises 13 members: 7 local authority appointed members and 6 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 7 local authority appointees and 6 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that there are sufficient local authority and Secretary of State members on the Committee.

Recommendation 1:

That the membership of the Planning Committee be appointed for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2019 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

3. **RESOURCES AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE**

3.1 Currently, this Committee comprises 9 members: 5 local authority appointed members and 4 Secretary of State members. Following members' responses, 5 local authority members and 5 Secretary of State members have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that there is one too many Secretary of State members and it will accordingly be necessary to hold a ballot to elect 4 SoS members from the 5 which have expressed an interest.

Recommendation 2:

To appoint the membership of the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee (5 local authority members and 4 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2019 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

4. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

4.1 At present, this Committee comprises 5 members: 3 local authority and 2 Secretary of State members. Following receipt of members' preferences, this Committee now has 5 volunteers (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members). This means that there are sufficient local authority and Secretary of State members on the Committee.

Recommendation 3:

To appoint the membership of the Standards Committee (3 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2019 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

| Contact: | David Stone Tel: 01590 646645, Email: <u>david.stone@newforestnpa.gov.uk</u> |
|--|--|
| Papers: NFNPA 551/18 NFNPA 551/18 Annex 1: | Cover paper Current Committee membership |

NFNPA 551/18 Annex 2: Results of members' committee preference survey

Equality Impact Assessment: There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

NFNPA 551/18 Annex 1

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING – 12 JULY 2018

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO ANNUAL MEETING IN JULY 2018

| STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Authority members) | PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members) | RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (9 Members) | |
|---|--|--|--|
| Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member) | Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member) | Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre (SoS Member) | |
| George Bisson (SoS Member) | George Bisson (SoS Member) | Richard Frampton (Local Authority Member) | |
| Phil Marshall (SoS Member) | Richard Clewer (Local Authority Member) | David Harrison (Local Authority Member) | |
| Leo Randall (Local Authority Member) | Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre (SoS Member) | Patrick Heneghan (SoS Member) | |
| Pat Wyeth (Local Authority Member) | Richard Frampton (Local Authority Member) | Edward Heron (Local Authority Member) | |
| | Penny Jackman (Local Authority Member) | Mel Kendal (Local Authority Member) | |
| | Harry Oram (SoS Member) | Neville Penman (Local Authority Member) | |
| | Gavin Parker (SoS Member) | John Sanger (SoS Member) | |
| | Leo Randall (Local Authority Member) | Marian Spain (SoS Member) | |
| | Barry Rickman (Local Authority Member) | | |
| | John Sanger (SoS Member) | | |
| | Richard Taylor (SoS Member) | | |
| | Pat Wyeth (Local Authority Member) | | |

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING - 12 JULY 2018

RESULTS OF MEMBERS' SURVEY ON PREFERRED COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2018/2019

NB – shading in the table below identifies Secretary of State-appointed members

| MEMBER | STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Members – 3 LA and 2 SoS) | PLANNING DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMM. (13 Members – 7 LA and 6 SoS) | RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMM. (9 Members – 5 LA and 4 SoS) |
|-------------------------|--|--|---|
| Gordon Bailey | 2 | 1 | |
| David Bence | | 2 | 1 |
| George Bisson | 2 | 1 | |
| Richard Clewer | | 1 | |
| Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre | | 2 | 1 |
| Richard Frampton | | 1 | 1 |
| David Harrison | | | 1 |
| Edward Heron | | | 1 |
| Patrick Heneghan | | | 1 |
| Penny Jackman | | 1 | |
| Mel Kendall | | | 1 |
| Keith Mans | | | |
| Phil Marshall | 1 | | |
| Harry Oram | | | |
| Gavin Parker | | 1 | |
| Neville Penman | | | 1 |
| Leo Randall | 2 | 1 | |
| Barry Rickman | | 1 | |
| John Sanger | | 1 | 1 |
| Marian Spain | | | 1 |
| Richard Taylor | | 1 | |
| Pat Wyeth | 2 | 1 | |