NFNPA 500/16

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING – 14 JULY 2016

APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES

Report by: David Stone, Manager of Corporate Services

Summary:

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Authority is required to appoint its committees at its Annual Meetings. The current membership of the Planning Development Control Committee, Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee is listed in the schedule attached as **Annex 1**. The results of a survey of Members' preferred Committee choices is attached as **Annex 2**.

The next agenda item will ask Members to elect Chairs and Deputy Chairs of these Committees.

Recommendation:

To consider the various options presented in the report and make the appointments to the NPA's Committees.

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 In accordance with the Standing Orders, the Authority is required to re-appoint the membership of its committees at the Annual Meeting. Accordingly, the membership of the Planning Development Control Committee, the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee and the Standards Committee must be approved for the period until the next Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2017. In determining the membership and composition of any committee, sub-committee, panel or other group, the Standing Orders require that due regard shall be had to the overall composition of the Authority in terms of the balance between local authority and Secretary of State appointments (Article 4, Part 2 of the 2005 Establishment Order and Articles 13(3) and (4) of Schedule 7 of the Environment Act 1995). The current membership of the Authority is 12 local authority and 10 Secretary of State Members, comprising 6 Members appointed by the Secretary of State and 4 Parish Members (Secretary of State-appointed members are identified in Annex 2 by shading). In practical terms, this means that each Committee must comprise one more local authority Member than the number of Secretary of State Members.
- 1.2 The membership of the three Committees prior to this Annual meeting of the Authority is listed in the schedule at **Annex 1.**
- 1.3 In order to facilitate the process of appointing the membership of the Committees at the Annual Authority meeting, the Corporate Services Manager wrote to Members on 11 May 2016 inviting them to state their preferred choice for committee membership by completing and returning a committee preference form. The results of the survey of Members' preferred committee choices is attached as **Annex 2**.

2. PLANNING DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE

2.1 The Planning Development Control Committee at present comprises 15 Members: 8 local authority appointed Members and 7 Secretary of State Members (the Committee is currently carrying 2 Secretary of State vacancies and 1 Local Authority vacancy). At present, 8 local authority appointees and 6 Secretary of State appointees have volunteered for membership of the Committee. This means that 1 more Secretary of State volunteer would be required to retain the existing Committee membership

Recommendation 1:

To appoint the membership of the Planning Development Control Committee for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2017 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

3. RESOURCES AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE

3.1 Currently, this Committee comprises 9 Members (5 local authority and 4 Secretary of State appointees). Following Members' responses, this Committee now has 9 volunteers as required (5 local authority members and 4 Secretary of State members).

Recommendation 2:

To appoint the membership of the Resources, Audit and Performance Committee (4 Secretary of State Members and 5 local authority members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2017 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

4. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

4.1 At present, this Committee comprises 5 Members (3 local authority and 2 Secretary of State appointees). Following receipt of Members' preferences, this Committee now has 6 volunteers (4 local authority members and 2 Secretary of State members). There is therefore 1 too many local authority members on the committee.

Recommendation 3:

To appoint the membership of the Standards Committee (2 Secretary of State and 3 local authority members) for the period until the Annual meeting of the Authority in 2017 or until such earlier time as the NPA wishes to amend the membership.

Contact: David Stone

Tel: 01590 646645,

Email: david.stone@newforestnpa.gov.uk

Papers:

NFNPA 500/16 Cover paper

NFNPA 500/16 Annex 1: Current Committee Membership

NFNPA 500/16 Annex 2: Results of Members' committee preference survey

Equality Impact Assessment: There are no equality or diversity implications arising directly from this report.

NFNPA 500/16 Annex 1

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY AUTHORITY MEETING – 14 JULY 2016 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO ANNUAL MEETING IN JULY 2016

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 members)	PLANNING DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE (15 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (9 Members)	
Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	Sally Arnold (SoS member)	Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre (SoS member)	
George Bisson (SoS Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	Gordon Bailey (Local Authority Member)	
Richard Frampton (Local Authority Member)	George Bisson (SoS Member)	Richard Frampton (Local Authority Member)	
Phil Marshall (SoS Member)	Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre (SoS Member)	David Harrison (Local Authority Member)	
Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Richard Frampton (Local Authority Member)	Edward Heron (Local Authority Member)	
	David Harrison (Local Authority Member)	John Pemberton (SoS Member)	
	Penny Jackman (Local Authority Member)	John Sanger (SoS Member)	
	Harry Oram (SoS Member)	Marian Spain (SoS Member)	
	Leo Randall (Local Authority Member)	Ken Thornber (Local Authority Member)	
	Barry Rickman (Local Authority Member)		
	John Sanger (SoS Member)		
	Pat Wyeth (Local Authority Member)		
	Vacant – previously Judith Webb (SoS Member)		
	Vacant – previously Chris Lagdon (Local Authority Member)		
	Vacant (SoS Member)		

NEW FOREST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

AUTHORITY MEETING – 14 July 2016

RESULTS OF MEMBERS' SURVEY ON PREFERRED COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2016/2017

NB – shading in the table below identifies Secretary of State-appointed members

MEMBER	STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 Members)	PLANNING DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMM. (15 Members)	RESOURCES, AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMM. (9 Members)
Sally Arnold		Yes	
Gordon Bailey	Yes	Yes	Yes
George Bisson	2nd	Yes	
Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre		Yes	Yes
Richard Frampton	Yes	Yes	Yes
David Harrison			Yes
Edward Heron			Yes
Penny Jackman		Yes	
Julian Johnson			
Keith Mans			
Phil Marshall	Yes		
Andy Moore	Yes	Yes	
Harry Oram		Yes	
John Pemberton			Yes
Leo Randall	Yes	Yes	
Barry Rickman		Yes	
John Sanger		Yes	Yes
Marian Spain			Yes
Ken Thornber		2 nd	1st
Russell Wynn		Yes	
Pat Wyeth		Yes	
1 SoS Vacancy Until March 2017 (Previously Judith Webb)			