National Park Authority Members reappointed

Ashurst woods autumn

Published Wednesday 2 November 2016

Re-appointments to England’s National Park Authorities & the Broads Authority and Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty Conservation Boards have been made.

The Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Andrea Leadsom's appointments will take effect from 1 April 2017.

National Park Authority members have a primary responsibility to ensure that the Authority furthers the statutory purposes of the Park.

Eight existing members have been re-appointed to four-year terms on the following National Park Authorities and Broads Authority:

  • New Forest – Phillip Marshall
  • Broads Authority – Kelvin Allen
  • Dartmoor – Naomi Oakley
  • Exmoor – Linda Blanchard
  • North York Moors – Jeremy Walker and Sarah Oswald
  • Peak District – Zahid Hamid
  • South Downs – Ian Phillips

Margaret Paren, Nick Holliday and Peter Murray have been re-appointed to one-year terms on South Downs National Park Authority, Exmoor National Park Authority and Northumberland National Park Authority respectively.

Lord Gardiner, on behalf of the Secretary of State has increased the number of consecutive years a Secretary of State Member is allowed to serve from 8 to 10 years and agreed to change the starting date for newly appointed Secretary of State Members from 1 April to 1 July.

Secretary of State members on Conservation Boards have a primary responsibility to ensure that the Conservation Board furthers the statutory AONB purposes as set out in the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000.

Three existing members have been re-appointed to three-year terms on the following Conservation Boards:

  • Chilterns Conservation Board – Elizabeth Wilson
  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – George Lambrick and David Thackray

Nick Holliday and Andrew Clark have been re-appointed to one-year terms on Cotswolds Conservation Board.

Additional information regarding the members listed will be made available on the individual Authority websites found here.

Additional information regarding the AONB Conservation Board members listed is available via: Cotswolds AONB website/ and Chilterns AONB website.

More articles in the news archive.

New Forest National Park Authority news feed


image-fade-right image-fade-left