Awards scheme searches for New Forest’s best new buildings

Cherry tree cottage Woodgreen

Published Tuesday 10 May 2016

The New Forest is renowned for the character of its buildings and villages, which help to give the National Park its unique feel.

Now the New Forest National Park Authority has launched a search for the best new developments in the area, with new buildings, larger developments and extensions eligible for an award.

Make a nomination here.

This is the second annual Building Design Awards, after last year’s awards proved very popular, attracting 20 nominations for new developments across the Forest.

This year the awards again aim to recognise the best new architecture in the area, with local residents, visitors, town and parish councils and architects encouraged to nominate their favourite new local buildings. The Authority hopes that by celebrating the highest quality designs, the Awards will help to raise standards in new developments planned for the future.

Around 1,000 planning applications are submitted in the National Park each year – 88 per cent of which are approved - and the awards scheme is another way to highlight the importance of good design in the National Park.

Pat Wyeth, New Forest National Park Authority Planning Committee Chairman, said: ‘The New Forest is of course famous for its unique landscape, free roaming ponies and ancient traditions, but the area’s buildings also play a role in making the National Park so special.

'As the planning authority for the Park, we place a strong emphasis on maintaining and improving the local character of the area through our policies; through working with communities to define what makes their area special so we can protect it; and by providing detailed guidance to people before submitting planning applications. The Building Design Awards were a success last year and I look forward to seeing what schemes will be nominated this year.’

Nominations can be made by anyone living in or visiting the New Forest National Park and must be for a high standard design that has been completed in the last three years.

People are welcome to nominate their own buildings and awards will be given in the following categories:

  • individual buildings
  • extensions
  • larger developments.

Nominations are open until 7 October 2016 and will be considered by a panel of National Park Authority members and staff, before the winners are announced in December 2016.

Submit your nomination at


Notes to Photo Editor:

Cherry tree cottage at Woodgreen, winner of the individual building category in the 2015 New Forest Building Design Awards.

Notes to Editor:

About the New Forest National Park Authority

Protect - Enjoy - Prosper

The New Forest National Park Authority’s statutory purposes are to:

  • Conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the Park - Protect.
  • Promote opportunities for understanding and enjoyment of its special qualities – Enjoy.

We also have a duty to:

  • Seek to foster the social and economic well-being of local communities within the Park – Prosper.

The New Forest National Park was designated in March 2005. Its unique landscape has been shaped over the centuries by grazing ponies, cattle and pigs which roam free. Majestic woodlands, rare heathland and a spectacular coastline provide fabulous opportunities for quiet recreation, enjoyment and discovery.

Visit to find out more.

Media Contacts:

Matt Stroud, Communications Officer, New Forest National Park Authority
Tel: 01590 646650

More articles in the news archive.

New Forest National Park Authority news feed


image-fade-right image-fade-left