New members for New Forest National Park Authority


Published Wednesday 30 March 2016

The New Forest National Park Authority is welcoming two new members.

The Authority has 22 members with overall responsibility for making decisions. There are 12 members appointed by the county, district and borough councils with land within the National Park. Six are appointed by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. Four are selected from parish councils within the National Park.

County Council memberHampshire County Councillor Andy Moore replaces Chris Lagdon as a county council member after Chris stood down due to ill health.

Andy said: ‘I have been a councillor on and off now for the last 17 years. I have served as a district councillor and have sat on planning committees so am aware of the consequences of future building and the damage this can do if the right decisions are not made. I am very interested in protecting the wildlife and outstanding beauty the Forest has to offer and to keep it free of pollution and any uncontrolled building, and any shale gas extractions.’

RusselProf Russell Wynn is appointed as a Secretary of State member replacing Prof Alex Neill and will take up his post in May.

Russell lives in Brockenhurst and is Honorary Professor of Ocean and Earth Science at University of Southampton, Chief Scientist at the National Oceanography Centre, and a member of the Strategic Programme Advisory Group of the Natural Environment Research Council. He also has a part-time role at Defra advising on marine mapping and monitoring, which is his main area of scientific expertise.

He said: ‘I am excited about this opportunity to strengthen links between the University and the Authority, particularly in the area of environmental research and conservation. Outside of work I am joint co-ordinator of the Wild New Forest initiative, which promotes the study and conservation of species of high conservation priority within the National Park.’

Meanwhile Secretary of State member Judith Webb announced her resignation due to family commitments at an Authority meeting last week after nearly four years.

New Forest National Park Authority Chairman Oliver Crosthwaite Eyre said: ‘We thank you for your contribution... Everyone appreciates your very expert knowledge and input over the years and all you have done for the Forest.’

Authority members set policies and priorities, ensure efficient and effective use of resources, and make sure that money is well spent. It is their job to represent the interests of the National Park and to balance out any conflicting pressures.


Notes to Photo Editor:

Images are available for download at:

Notes to Editor:

About the New Forest National Park Authority

Protect - Enjoy - Prosper

The New Forest National Park Authority’s statutory purposes are to:

  • Conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the Park - Protect.
  • Promote opportunities for understanding and enjoyment of its special qualities – Enjoy.

We also have a duty to:

  • Seek to foster the social and economic well-being of local communities within the Park – Prosper.

The New Forest National Park was designated in March 2005. Its unique landscape has been shaped over the centuries by grazing ponies, cattle and pigs which roam free. Majestic woodlands, rare heathland and a spectacular coastline provide fabulous opportunities for quiet recreation, enjoyment and discovery.

Visit to find out more.

Media Contacts:

Hilary Makin, Communications Manager, New Forest National Park Authority

Tel: 01590 646608


More articles in the news archive.

New Forest National Park Authority news feed


image-fade-right image-fade-left