Nominations open for New Forest awards

CLA awards 2013

Published Thursday 9 January 2014

Nominations are now open for an awards scheme to reward those making an exceptional contribution to maintaining the unique landscape and way of life of the New Forest.

The 2015 awards are now open for nominations - click here. 

The CLA and New Forest National Park Authority Awards has expanded for 2014 and now features four award categories:

  • Young Farmer/Commoner of the Year
  • Best Supporter of Local Produce
  • Sustainability Champion
  • Agricultural Building Designer.

You can nominate a friend, family member or colleague at anytime between now and 30 April and the shortlisted nominees will be judged by panels made up of experts from local organisations. Those lucky enough to reach the final stage will find out if they have won at this summer’s awards ceremony, held at the New Forest Show on 30 July.

This year’s awards builds on a successful 2013 edition, which culminated in the Earl and Countess of Wessex presenting the Young Farmer and Commoner and Best Supporter of Local Produce awards to the winners in the main show ring at the New Forest Show.

Jane Overall, owner of Seltey Ridge farm shop, was named Best Supporter of Local Produce in 2013 and said: ‘It was a fantastic honour to be presented with last year’s award. At Setley Ridge we are passionate about championing local produce and producers and so to be recognised for our achievements was the icing on the cake.

‘Winning the award has really helped to raise the profile of Setley Ridge and the producers that we support – I would certainly encourage others to apply for the 2014 awards.’

CLA Director South East Robin Edwards said: ‘I am delighted that we are working in partnership with the National Park Authority again to present these awards across the New Forest.

‘The New Forest is unique and it is essential that it has a thriving and profitable working rural economy to ensure our grandchildren will be able to enjoy it as we do today. These awards go some way to recognising the people and businesses that are custodians of the wonderful landscape of the New Forest.’

New Forest National Park Authority Chief Executive Alison Barnes said: ‘It is vital we continue to support those at the heart of the living, working forest. We hope that by supporting commoning, local produce and sensitive building design we will help to maintain the unique landscape of the New Forest.

‘I hope these awards will give deserved recognition to individuals making an exceptional contribution in these areas, and I look forward to meeting all the winners at the New Forest Show in July.’

Nominations for each category can be made online at

To request a paper copy of the nomination form please phone 01590 646600 or ask at the National Park reception at Lymington Town Hall.


Awards criteria

Young Commoner/Farmer of the Year

  • 40 years and below and based within the New Forest
  • Engages in and represents forest life
  • Demonstrates commitment to wildlife/environment.

Best Supporter of Local Produce

  • Produces and/or sells/uses local produce
  • Prioritises quality of product
  • Promotes/champions local produce.

Sustainability Champion

  • Demonstrates commitment to wildlife/environment
  • Promotes/utilises renewable/sustainable energy
  • Undertakes recycling.

Agricultural Building DesignerOwner and/or designer of agricultural building that:

  • sits well within its surroundings
  • is of suitable composition in relation to existing buildings in the area
  • uses sympathetic building materials to allow the building to blend in and reflect local building styles
  • includes measures to support and enhance biodiversity (i.e. associated tree and hedge planting, bird and bat boxes etc).

Rules and regulations:

  • You may not nominate yourself
  • CLA and New Forest National Park Authority staff and their immediate family are not eligible to enter these awards
  • Nominees must live or work within the New Forest District boundary, the Wiltshire section of the National Park or the New Forest Marque boundary (
  • If you are shortlisted you must be available to attend the awards ceremony on 30 July at the New Forest Show
  • You must be 16 years or older to enter
  • Nominations will be accepted between 9am on 8 January and 5pm on 30 April 2014
  • A shortlist will be drawn up by New Forest National Park Authority and CLA staff and shortlisted nominees will then be judged by panels of representatives from local organisations. Judging of each nominee will take no longer than half a day
  • Shortlisted nominees will be notified by email, or by phone where no email address has been supplied, between 19 and 23 May 2014
  • Judging will take place between 2 and 20 June.

Notes to photo editor:

Jane Overall and Andy Alvis from Setley Ridge are presented with last year’s Best Supporter of Local Produce award by the Earl of Wessex.

Notes to editor:

About the CLA(Country Land and Business Association)

The CLA has around 34,000 members.

As a membership organisation, the CLA supports landowners by advising them on how best to protect and maximise their asset: the land. They are dedicated to supporting landowners and their businesses. Our success is measured by how effectively we do that. They have a team of experts in London and a regional structure able to give local support.

The CLA has been looking after the interests of its members, as well as promoting the positive aspects of land ownership, land management and rural business activities for the past 100 years. CLA members own or manage approximately half the rural land in England and Wales, and the resulting expertise puts the organisation in a unique position to formulate policies and lobby effectively.

For more information about the CLA visit or follow @CLAtweets on Twitter.

About the New Forest National Park Authority

Protect - Enjoy - Prosper

The New Forest National Park Authority’s statutory purposes are to:

  • Conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the Park - Protect
  • Promote opportunities for understanding and enjoyment of its special qualities – Enjoy.

We also have a duty to:

  • Seek to foster the social and economic well-being of local communities within the Park – Prosper.

The New Forest National Park was designated in March 2005. Its unique landscape has been shaped over the centuries by grazing ponies, cattle and pigs which roam free. Majestic woodlands, rare heathland and a spectacular coastline provide fabulous opportunities for quiet recreation, enjoyment and discovery.

Visit to find out more.

Media Contacts:

Matt Stroud, Communications Assistant, New Forest National Park Authority

Tel: 01590 646650 Email:

Megan Cameron, Rural Adviser, CLA

Tel: 01264 313434 Email:

More articles in the news archive.

New Forest National Park Authority news feed


image-fade-right image-fade-left