New Members appointed to the New Forest National Park Authority

Published Wednesday 1 April 2009

Two new members have been appointed to the New Forest National Park Authority; Jeremy Heron and John Pemberton.

Jeremy Heron, District Councillor for the Ringwood South District Ward has been appointed as a Parish Member to the New Forest National Park Authority.

Mr Heron comes from a family devoted to public service and is well-known in local government circles. He was previously a member of the Authority.

He is an active member of the community, not only as a Parish Councillor, but he also sits on the Poulner Community Management Committee and the Ringwood, Fordingbridge and Totton Citizen’s Advice Bureau Management Committee.

Mr Heron will be one of four parish members of the New Forest National Park Authority appointed to represent the wider National Park view, not just the interest of their own parish. They ensure the truly local concerns of those who live or work in the New Forest are represented.

John Pemberton has been appointed as a Secretary of State member to the Authority. He has built a successful company in the computer software industry and since his retirement in 2000 he has been involved in managing his own farm and livery stables in the New Forest National Park.

Mr Pemberton is passionate about researching the history of the New Forest and is a keen archaeologist. He is also one of the founders of the New Forest Transition group, encouraging transition to renewable energy and sustainable living. He is a member of the Avon Valley Archaeological Society, Hampshire Field Club and Archaeological Society, New Forest History and Archaeological Society and the New Forest Equestrian Association.

He will be one of six members appointed by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs who bring key skills, knowledge and experience relevant to the work of the Authority, with a particular interest in the New Forest and a wider national viewpoint.

Clive Chatters, Chairman of the New Forest National Park Authority, said: 'I am pleased to welcome Jeremy and John as National Park members, both have a wealth of experience to bring to the Authority and I look forward to working with them.'

Of the other 22 members, 12 are appointed by the county, district and borough councils within the National Park.


Media Contact:
Karen Evans
Communications Officer
New Forest National Park Authority
Tel: 01590 646650

More articles in the news archive.

New Forest National Park Authority news feed


image-fade-right image-fade-left