Awards - history and overview


Awards 2015

The 2015 awards were presented to local people and businesses which have made an exceptional contribution to maintaining the unique landscape and way of life of the New Forest.

The winners were:

Pete Niccolls was chosen as Young Farmer/Commoner of the Year for his forward thinking approach to commoning, as well as his support for other farmers and commoners. He has continued to grow his herd and the judges were impressed by his ‘field to fork’ approach to his beef.

The judges selected Alison Slingo of Paws Deli in Lymington as Best Supporter of Local Produce, commenting that she has built her business around ensuring that all ingredients are sourced locally.

The 2015 Sustainability Champion, Dave Dibden, is the inspiration behind the regeneration of Pondhead Inclosure near Lyndhurst and has worked tirelessly for many years to improve the woodland for wildlife and local people.

The awards also included a new category this year for Rural Diversification, which was presented to Mary Montagu-Scott on behalf of the Buckler’s Hard Shipwright School. The judges commented that the traditional wooden structure is a perfect example of a sympathetic rural diversification that benefits the wider business it sits within.

Highly Commended certificates were also presented to runners-up in each category:

  • Tom Hordle of Rockford (Young Farmer/Commoner)
  • Claire Lee of Spice ‘n’ Easy, Christian Rivron of The Granary Kitchen and Wayne Smith of Longdown Farm Shop (Best Supporter of Local Produce)
  • David Watts, Avon Tyrrell boathouse (Sustainability)
  • Cheryl and Ciaran Maher, Daisybank Bed and Breakfast (Rural Diversification).
  1. Awards overview
  2. Awards 2016
  3. Awards 2015 (you are here)
  4. Awards 2014
  5. Awards 2013


image-fade-right image-fade-left